EBU European Jazz Competition 2014

Filip Jers Quartet (photo by Ruud Zinzen)
Pat Cleaver (photo by Ruud Zinzen)

On Saturday July 5th the finals of the EBU European Jazz Competition took place at LantarenVenster (Rotterdam). After enthusiastic presentations of young international top talent, jury chairman Hugo Sekoranja on behalf of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) announced the results of the 5th EBU European Jazz Competition.

The Quartet of the Swedish harmonica player Filip Jers is the winner of the "SENA Award Best Group 2014". In addition, bassist Pat Cleaver of the Dutch Loran Witteveen Quintet received the Award for "Best Soloist ".

A price that all the finalists all shared is the international promotion thanks to the radio broadcasts of the finals by the EBU arranged in Europe, such as in the Netherlands via NTR Radio 6.

The jury verdict on Filip Jers Quartet: "this band offered sensitive communication, outstanding arrangements and an intriguing choice of repertoire."

And about the Best Soloist Pat Cleaver: "very well prepared with good sound, wonderful communication skills and great timing that made the band swing."

The jury was completed by the British/Trinidadian poet, novelist, musician and lecturer Anthony Joseph, the jazz editor for the Croatian radio and singer, Jelena Balent, the host and producer for the NTR Mijke van Wijk and the Dutch bass player Marius Beets.

The EBU European Jazz Competition is initiated in 2006 by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), the North Sea Jazz Festival in the Netherlands based Foundation of the EJC.

The EBU and Sena are together the main partners and NORMA and Rotterdam Festivals the partners of the European Jazz Competition.

content vlakken